2017 Awardees KD17 Teaching Awards 0780 new

The 2017 SAS Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Education were announced at a May 3 ceremony at Winants Hall. The awards honored eleven teachers--from faculty members to graduate students--for accomplishments both within and beyond the classroom. Dean Lord, of the School of Arts and Sciences Honors Program, was also honored with a Staff Career Award for her dedication to Rutgers students. Executive Dean Peter March opened the ceremony by emphasizing the critical role that undergraduate instruction plays in a strong Arts and Sciences program. He then presented the awards, which cover the spectrum of Arts and Sciences fields from Latino and Caribbean Studies and Russian to sociology and physics.

Read more about the 2017 honorees here. 



2017 Honorees

Distinguished Professor

Yolanda Martinez-San Miguel– Latino & Caribbean Studies

Associate Professor

Emily Van Buskirk – Russian and East European Languages and Literatures

Alyson Brooks – Physics and Astronomy

Assistant Professor

Norah MacKendrick- Sociology

Associate Teaching Professor

Abdelbaki Brahmia– Physics and Astronomy

Gregg Transue – Biological Sciences (DLS)

Assistant Teaching Professor

Ana Paula Serra – Spanish and Portuguese

Andrew Tjang– Computer Science

Madeline Zehala – English Writing Program

Teaching Assistant

Ian Bignall – English Writing Program 

Aniket Patra – Physics and Astronomy

Staff Career Award

Nancy (Muffin) Lord – SAS Honors Program Director and Advisor