Award-Winning Teaching

Award-Winning Teaching

SAS Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Teaching

The 2018 SAS Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Education were announced at a May 1 ceremony at Rutgers Hillel. The awards honored seventeen teachers—from faculty members to graduate students—for accomplishments both within and beyond the classroom. Executive Dean Peter March opened the ceremony by emphasizing the critical role that undergraduate instruction plays in a strong Arts and Sciences program. He then presented the awards, which cover the spectrum of Arts and Sciences fields from economics and French to psychology and anthropology.

Read more about the 2018 honorees here. 

Read more about past honorees

pdf Here is a list of all the past honorees. (186 KB)

Rutgers Teaching Awards

In 2018, SAS faculty recognized for their outstanding contributions to teaching received a number of Rutgers-wide awards.

Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching

Jocelyn Elise Crowley, Professor, Department of Political Science, Department of Women’s and Gender Studies, and John J. Heldrich Center for Workforce Development, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Carlos Decena, Associate Professor, Departments of Latino and Caribbean Studies and Women’s and Gender Studies

Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award

Ulla Berg, Associate Professor, Department of Latino and Caribbean Studies

Susan Carroll, Professor, Department of Political Science

Robin Leichenko, Professor and Chair, Department of Geography

Presidential Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

Andrew Urban, Associate Professor, Departments of American Studies and History

Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching

Lynda Dexheimer, Assistant Director, Department of English

student advising 6a5b2